Skip to content

Why do I want to start a blog, you ask?

June 30, 2010

Alright, I did it!  I’m officially seven words into what is probably a horrible mistake.  I have no idea what my bloggy goals are or even what direction I’d like to steer this bloggy ship, but after six months of thinking about it hypothetically I thought it was time to buckle down and just make it a reality.

I started reading blogs at the beginning of this year.  Coincidentally, at the same time I started working full time at a computer.  I had thought abstractly about starting one myself for a long time before that but only because I think that everything I say is both correct and important.  I know realistically that this isn’t true…I’m a pretty run of the mill chick.  But I am imbued with the sense of narcissism that seems to run through most bloggy veins.

Although I’ve never done any personal writing I’ve always enjoyed scholastic writing.  Even during my first shot at college, which was more about drinking games with friends and late late nights than study groups with peers and daytime classes.  Even then I enjoyed writing papers.  When my husband and I were packing up to move a few months back I found the bulging accordion folder with my TU classwork.  Because I’ll take any distraction from packing or cleaning EVERY SINGLE TIME, I stopped and re-read all of those papers.  I came across sentences and paragraphs that I still loved.  Those papers are over seven years old and I was still able to fully feel the elation of finding the words that can exactly express the sentiment I was trying to convey.

I didn’t finish school at TU (due to the aforementioned drinking games and late nights, among other things) but I did go back and get my BA in Communication Studies at a local university, at the ripe old age of 26.  I’ve been out of school for almost a year now and I miss it.  I miss writing and I miss intelligent discourse.  Well, there was some intelligent discourse.  There was also some dumb sluts from the volleyball team that couldn’t seem to understand that spandex is more appropriate for athletics than presentations in front of clients.  And maybe some freshman kids who were irritatingly enthusiastic about being able to cuss in the classroom without getting detention.  But there were also a few people interested in literature and human rights and learning through hearing and expressing different view points.  I was lucky enough to have a professor in my discipline who had a teaching style in complete accord with my learning style.  She was and continues to be a role model for how to be an educated, caring woman who expects the most out of people and gives the same in return.

I’d love to go back and get my graduate degree, but it’s not likely to happen soon for a myriad of reasons.  Including a fucking disgusting student loan debt that I can’t in good conscience add to.  So I think maybe I’m trying to use the blogging platform as an alternative to the things I enjoy about being in a classroom.  Although I’ve been reading blogs and learning about the relationships bloggers share, I haven’t been a real part of the discussion.  And I’d like to be.

See!  I didn’t really know that about myself until I just sat down and wrote it out!  That’s another reason I wanted to start blogging…writing things out will help me better understand myself.  I like to think that I’m good at self-examination and have a pretty realistic idea of who I am and where I need to improve.  But in writing things out they just seem to make more sense.  When you lay it out on paper (or in a text box, as it is) you can’t argue your way around things.  You’re forced to confront your opinions and emotions and explain them in a way that other people understand.  Which means that you have to really understand them yourself.

What I’m saying is nothing new.  I’d imagine that a gazillion other bloggers out there do it for the same reasons I just laid out.  I’m just now getting it.  In the twilight of 2010.  What a trendsetter.  My mom has been blogging for five years longer than I have.  No joke, she’s at Nothing to See Here.

So there it is, my first post.  All of the reasons I’m in love with the idea of blogging.  Stay tuned, next time I’ll tell you about how I’m in love with the idea of blogging but I don’t know if I’m ready for the reality.

PS – She said she didn’t want any credit, but I have to mention that the perfect title for my blog comes from Becky at Steam Me Up, Kid.  Her Irish Grudge against a random blog commenter is something I can totally relate to.  I have unnecessary anger at everything from the lady who walks around my office barefoot to Bono to the people who discontinued the deodorant I liked.  I’m also Irish, with lots of Ire and I’d like to share it with the world.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 11:30 am

    Welcome to the blogging world! I came to see you because Becky told me to and we all want to keep Becky happy. I look forward to reading your posts and hope this stimulates me into posting more than once in a blue moon.

    • October 11, 2010 12:28 pm

      I’ll take a reader born out of fear for another blogger, I’m not above it. Hopefully after the obligation to keep Becky happy wears off I can keep you around!

  2. October 11, 2010 11:39 am

    Welcome to the blogging world, don’t be afraid, come on out from under the couch. Really? Is this how it’s going to go? I don’t bite hardly at all anymore. And I am wearing the cone of shame so I can’t get at you right now anyway.

    Becky also sent me here, and I do everything she tells me to do. That’s why there are all those shallow graves.

    Perhaps I shared too much our first meeting?

    • October 11, 2010 11:55 am

      Doug or Alpha? 😉

    • October 11, 2010 12:37 pm

      I must have lucked out to begin my blogging career by latching onto someone who has such power over others. That’s one thing I didn’t even consider…if I’m a good blogger do I get minions?

  3. October 11, 2010 11:49 am

    Good luck in bloggyland hope you enjoy your stay!

  4. October 11, 2010 11:52 am

    I was going to compliment you on your irieness, but then that sounds like I’m calling you a rasta, and I hate the smell of incense and those woven ponchos and GET A HAIRCUT!! *waves fist in air*

    Anyhow, welcome. It’s fun here.

    • October 11, 2010 12:45 pm

      I just got back from vacation in Jamaica a few weeks ago. I loved it there, but the people were too nice for me. Too irie. I need some anger and drama. I need people doing stupid shit so that I can laugh at them. There was a fist fight at the breakfast buffet between a British woman and an Indian man over who got to the empty table first. Even though there were 10 other empty tables within a few feet. Watching that made me feel the most at home. It was like a live version of The Real World: Crazy Jamaican Tourists.

  5. Jesse permalink
    October 11, 2010 11:54 am

    Life makes good entertainment

    Good luck!

  6. October 11, 2010 12:02 pm

    Welcome to Blogland! 🙂 Just watch out for the ‘Stainy’ award……………….

    • October 11, 2010 12:46 pm

      Should I google that? Or should I just assume that it’s exactly as it sounds and save myself any images that may accompany the search?

  7. October 11, 2010 12:12 pm

    You did it!! You did it and I found you and ha!

    My favorite parts:

    “… everything I say is both correct and important…”

    and

    that part about the sluts from the volleyball team.

    haha

    Welcome to blogging!!

    • October 11, 2010 12:47 pm

      Yay! I was going to send a link to you and Amber, but I thought that linking you in a post gave you a notification. Right?

      • October 11, 2010 1:32 pm

        I check my blog stats occasionally and when I see people clicking over from here, I followed the link and there you were!

        Oh, Grasshopper… I have so much to teach you! But! In order to maximize the value of it (and this is a lesson in and of itself), I shall create my Lessons To a New Blogger post on my own blog.

        ps: Problems sorting themselves out – yes, yes, we certainly do share some common genetics. Those are my favorite kind of problems, which is why IGNORE PROBLEM is always the first course of action, just to see if the self-sorting works.

  8. October 11, 2010 12:13 pm

    ps: Why is your post dated June 30th?? Yer doin’ it wrong.

  9. J from Ireland permalink
    October 13, 2010 6:35 pm

    I look forward to your words. Whats the Irish connection? Irish Grudge…so true!!

    • October 14, 2010 2:35 pm

      I come from a family with Irish heritage. My maiden name is Murphy and growing up I was inevitably called Murph. There were people I hung out with for years that didn’t know my first name. Someone called my apartment in college and asked for me by my first name and my roommate told them they had the wrong number. So that along with the unjustified anger that comes with the definition of an Irish grudge…just seemed to suit me.

Leave a Reply

