Skip to content

Glamour Shots and Fat Girls

March 23, 2011

Lord please help me finish this post in one shot because apparently if I begin a post and save it as a draft I might as well roll it up, put it in a bottle, and throw it into the ocean.  Or River Des Peres, as the case may be.

I found a new blog yesterday…yay!  I was playing around with my boyfriend, StumbleUpon, and I came across a compilation of hilarious Glamour Shots.  Having been a tween at the height of the Glamour Shots era I remember begging my mom to take me.  I wanted what every tween wants; to be older (and to smoke cigarettes and be able to wear really short booty shorts, but that’s beside the point).  So for my 12th birthday we headed to the mall for a day of aerosol hairspray, cake makeup, and overtly sexy poses.

Right here would be where I put up a copy of my Glamour Shots pictures.  But for some reason my mother, who has scanned and detailed her entire existence online (and therefore mine by proxy), does not have the photo on her blog or her fb page.  Maybe she thought she was saving me from embarrassment?  MOM – I know you’re reading this, if you have it uploaded anywhere link me to it!

Instead you’ll have to settle for some Glamour Shots reenactments I did with my bff and her sister and mother a few months back:

I don’t think any of them will be particularly appreciative if they knew I put these up, but they don’t read this shit so oh well.  Is that rude?  I think it ignores one of the cardinal rules of nice blogging…something about respecting other people’s boundaries…I don’t know.  All I know is that these pictures are awesome and you deserve to see them, so I can’t in good conscience deprive you.

So anyway, back to the new blog I found.  It’s called A Whole Lot of Nothing.  She was linked on the bottom of the Glamour Shots post on We Know Awesome and after further investigation (ie – looking at the sidebar after pulling the site up from my history) it seems she’s also a writer/creator for that site.

So this chick, whose name is Angie, loves the word awesome as much as I do.  She also has long curly blonde hair and glasses.  And she’s about the same size and body type as me.  And she seems to have a similar sense of humor.  Honestly, I’m feeling really stalkerish after this paragraph.  I usually hate reading overtly suck-y up-y stuff like this.  Maybe that’s why I’m going nowhere in the blogging world; because I don’t fawn over other bloggers.  Or maybe because I’m not really a fantastic writer and I only post about once a month.  Who really knows the answer to these questions?

Anyway, it’s taken me 2 pointless paragraphs, 3 stellar pictures, and 2 more gush-y paragraphs for me to get to the point of this post.  And that is Angie’s post today about weight.  She’s getting over her fear and announcing her actual weight online (gasp!).  Here is my comment and opinion on the subject:

(Is reposting a comment you made on another blog in your own blog tacky?  Oh well, I’m tacky.  I’ll embrace it.)

I’m a thicky thicky thick girl myself. Although I can’t deny that I can be self-conscious about my body, I’ve never really seen weight as anything but a number. The way I look at it is that I’m going to look the same way whether or not you know that I’m 210lbs. The actual number means absolutely nothing that isn’t patently visible when I try and put on a pair of pants that fit last year. So I’ve never really understood the social taboo of bringing up weight. As if people are going to see me as skinnier if I don’t tell them the exact amount of poundage I have stuffed under my clothes? I say YAY for you and anyone else that overcomes this phobia and throws up their numbers for the world to see!

Part of our societal issues with weight come from the fact that we think we’re so different than other people.  We compare ourselves to this made up, idealized version of other people and, shockingly, always come up short.  That was the whole point of the article in Curvy Girl Guide called Women Getting Real About Weight that drew Angie (the newest love of my bloggy life) to post today.  Go look.  Check those ladies out.  Check me out.  I’m 5’7 210lbs.  And I rock this shit.

(Although as of tomorrow I will be rocking this shit from an elliptical 3 times a week like a healthy person should.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 12:27 pm

    DAMMIT.

    Now you’re gonna make me all sappy and weepy-eyed. I mean, I think I have an eyelash in my eyeball. Or something.

    I’m honored you’re coming out because of me. It wasn’t a lie that I refused to give up my number until just last night. I’m still ashamed, but I’m glad it’s making a difference to people like you.

    Call me mothertruckin Oprah or some shite.

    I’m glad you found me and my blogs. …I have lots more, so keep reading…

    • March 23, 2011 4:30 pm

      There’s no crying in baseball!

      I’m all for coming out loud and proud for [insert cause here]. For real though, body acceptance and self esteem are huge issues for women that I’ve had the good fortune of not really struggling with. But I’ve seen them tear some of the people I love to bits, so if I can join others in leading by example then hopefully I can help make some women a little more comfortable.

  2. March 23, 2011 3:11 pm

    Angie is the best! And you DO rock that shit! So glad you joined in.

    ps- are you in st louis? You referenced River Des Peres- or as we call it at my house, the River Des Poop.

    • March 23, 2011 4:35 pm

      I love finding new blogs. I’ve been on a blog roll (ba dum bum!)(don’t tell anyone I did that) the past couple days too…I think I’ve added 5 new things to my reader. Reading other people always seems to inspire me to write much more than stuff that’s actually going on in my life. I guess it’s just more like continuing a conversation as opposed to just talking about myself. Or at the very least, talking about myself within the context of a continuing conversation…much less narcissistic 😛

      And yes, StL born and raised!

  3. March 23, 2011 4:25 pm

    I’ll have to check Angie’s blog out. You look great by the way. I”m 5’4″ and 230 pounds which is not healthy at all according to my doctor. Could have something to do with the type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and hypothryoidism though.

    • March 23, 2011 4:39 pm

      It seems that these days everyone is unhealthy in their own way. I haven’t been to the doctor (other than the gyno – I SUPPORT PLANNED PARENTHOOD!) in about 8 years. One of the perks of being uninsured is that nobody can tell you how crappily you’re taking care of yourself. I can only imagine what they’ll have to say when I eventually go. But, just like most people, there’s always going to be things that need to be worked on and changed…so we’ll just keep trucking, one thing at a time, right?

  4. March 24, 2011 9:49 pm

    I remember when I came out with my number, and it was 270. It was quite a relief – like taking the power away from it.

    If that number was a set of tires, I slashed the air out them.

    (That joke was flat, huh?)

    I’ve been public with my number for a few years now. I don’t care what the scale says. I just want to be able to feel good, be comfortable in jeans, and sit on the floor with my knees up and my arms casually wrapped around them. Those are my measures.

    • March 25, 2011 7:44 pm

      I’ve never really understood the power of the number. I see that other women struggle with it so I understand the unburdening actually means A LOT to them. But it’s just never meant all that much to me. If it comes up in conversation I’ll cop to it with only a tiny thought. I think part of it is an intense desire for me to help overcome the women and weight issue, probably because I saw how you struggled with it for so long.

      Men spout off their numbers without thinking, even overweight guys. On the whole, they seem to consider weight issues as more intrinsically tied to how they feel about their body as opposed to based on comparison to other men. Which is much healthier outlook. You seem to be thinking about it that way now; feeling good, being comfy in jeans, etc. I’m moving slightly beyond that point…hence the new membership to the gym at work.

      PS – I noticed that while before your comments were JustLinda now they’re Mom. I like it 🙂

Leave a comment